Down the TBR Hole | November 2023 #1

Welcome back everyone! Hope you’re all doing well. Today we’re going to be going down the TBR Hole and trying to clear out my Storygraph and Goodreads.

Now I want to start by saying that I definitely do not have my GoodReads up to date AT ALL. I’m still not entirely sure how I’m going to go about this.

I originally heard of this from Mom’s Book Collection and decided I wanted to do my own spin on it! So, let’s get right into this and we’ll take a look at what’s on my TBR.

So, I’m going to do this a bit different than Lost in a Story originally planned it. They said to look at your oldest books and go from there. I’m going to be looking at two different websites. I use Storygraph as my main tracking website and Goodreads is kind of more of a backup now. But I would like to get back to using GoodReads alongside Storygraph, mostly for the authors so I can have their reviews up there as well.

Semi-recently, I did clear out my Storygraph, mostly. Anything that was added on there from, like, last year and earlier, I just kind of took off unless it’s one I owned. And as for Goodreads, it hasn’t gotten any of my recent “want to reads.”

So, my plan is to take the 2 most recent books that are on my Storygraph and decide if I do want to read them still and then add them to Goodreads if so. (Note: I looked at my two most recent additions and they are books I added literally today. So, I’ll talk about the 4 most recent) Then take my oldest 2 from GoodReads and see if I want to read them still and add them to Storygraph if I do.

Obviously this is going to be a bit chaotic, but we’ll just play along and see how I like it.

Newest Want To Reads

Godly Heathens by H.E. Edgmon is going to be coming out at the end of November and I came across it, coincidentally, on GoodReads’ November Releases email. Honestly, I don’t know what it’s about. I saw the MC is non-binary and the character n the cover is STUNNING so I added it. That hairstyle gets me every time.

Definitely keeping this

How to They/Them: A Visual Guide to Non-binary Pronouns and the World of Gender Fluidity by Stuart Getty and Brooke Thyng is a non-fiction “guide” to using they/them pronouns and gender fluidity. I’m definitely intrigued by this one and immediately requested it from my library.

Another definite keeping

Tempt Our Fate by Kat Singleton is one that I honestly only vaguely remember adding. I don’t remember where I heard about it, but I’m definitely still interested. An age-gap, enemies to lovers, small town romance? Sign me up… again, I suppose. Though I may read the first in this “series” before getting to this one.

Another keep (not surprising)

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan is a book that kind of confuses me? But also, I’m kind of pumped for. A friend of mine gave it 5 stars and honestly that’s enough for me. They praised it very highly and that’s plenty for me to keep it on my TBR.

Keeping!


Oldest Books on my TBR

I remember hearing about Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman on BookTube when I was first getting into reading again. I added this one back in 2016 and I’m still very much interested in it. And lucky for me, I can get the audiobook on Hoopla, even though I own the physical book.

Also keeping… will this post series even help clear out my TBR?!

The Luxe by Anna Godberson is another one I’m still really interested in. This book is giving Gossip Girl but make it historical. I’ve heard it’s fast paced and I just have a feeling it’ll be a good one to kind of work my way into historical fiction. I’m terrible with historical fiction, but I really do want to love it. Especially historical romances.

Keeping!


……….. I don’t want to talk about it…..

So, I didn’t take anything OFF my TBR, but I do want to try to make progress on these. So let’s take a vote! I’ll add the book with the most votes to a TBR soon!

Choose one book from these selections (the others weren’t added to the vote because they aren’t out yet or I don’t have access yet):
The Natural History of Dragons
Prisoner of Night and Fog
The Luxe

Author: Manda the Biblio

Hey everyone! I'm Manda! I run the blog, Twitch, and Instagram @MandaTheBiblio. I talk about a bunch of stuff from books to games to just life! As a mom of two, life is chaotic so I'm not promising the best content you'll ever see, but I am promising my best at the time! I don't know exactly what this blog will be, but I know that it'll be fun either way!

4 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole | November 2023 #1”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.